I have some experience with this. “I don't know if they're really like everybody else, or if they're able to pretend they are.” ― Madeleine L'Engle, A Wrinkle in Time. Method 1 of 3: Making It Seem Like You're Working. Try starting from the assumption that you don’t know. 3. This especially happens in technical conferences. carrie ward on October 22, 2017: I agree with … But if you don't know him well enough to say that kind of thing to him yet, I suggest you start by saying 'hi' or 'good morning' as you pass him. We pretend because we don’t feel enough as we are. It's about allowing ourselves to grow and become better by exploring and testing out new things. But it wouldn't change anything so i'll just keep on pretending i don't Anonymous. Join my email list with 40K+ people for more helpful insights. I tend to find the one reason people do this is because they are passive aggressive. You may answer yes to these questions, but is that what you believe deep down? You Don't Know Lyrics: I know you've got the best intentions / Just trying to find the right words to say / I promise I've already learned my lesson / But right now, I wanna be not okay / I'm so tired 14 likes. Let me share a story with you. to know something while pretending not to. It's almost like misplaced pride about not wanting to accept something. Most of us go through life pretending rather than living. “You almost have to deliberately force yourself to act, and when you do …you’ll get better results,” she says. You get the vibe and see the signs he’s pretending not to like you. We don't know about you, but after a certain act, cuddling is kind of the last thing we want to do. Pretending and lying to yourself will only breed unhappiness.” ~Michael Lee. You might start to get your groove back and enjoy yourself. You and I have been there – a new workout routine, healthy eating, a new job, learning a new hobby, and that blessed blinking cursor every time I open a new Word document – starting is the ha